Narendra Modi takes oath as Prime Minister for third consecutive time at Rashtrapati Bhavan

Image taken from Google.com

Narendra Modi takes oath as Prime Minister for third consecutive time at Rashtrapati Bhavan

At a swearing-in ceremony on Sunday at Rashtrapati Bhavan, Narendra Modi was sworn in as India's prime minister for a third term. President Droupadi Murmu delivered the oath on June 9 at 7:15 p.m. in the Rashtrapati Bhavan forecourt.

Prime Minister Modi resigned from his position on Wednesday and gave President Murmu his resignation. He resigned one day after the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) secured a resounding majority in the Lok Sabha election of 2024. There will be 72 ministers in the Modi 3.0 government. Thirty additional Cabinet Ministers, five Ministers of State with Independent Charge, and thirty-six Ministers of State make up the team. For important cabinet posts, PM Modi kept his senior ministers, giving NDA allies additional slots.

Leaders from around the country and beyond were among the 8,000 guests invited to the swearing-in ceremony. A wide range of people attended the event, including departing lawmakers, BJP and opposition leaders, sitting MLAs and MLCs, well-known physicians, attorneys, and religious figures, as well as rat-hole miners, sanitation workers, and chiefs of state from nearby nations. PM Modi was sworn in on Sunday alongside world leaders including H.E. Mr. Ranil Wickremesinghe, President of Sri Lanka; H.E. Dr. Mohamed Muizzu, President of the Maldives; H.E. Mr. Ahmed Afif, Vice-President of Seychelles; H.E. Mr. Sheikh Hasina, Prime Minister of Bangladesh; H.E. Mr. Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Prime Minister of Mauritius; H.E. Mr. Pushpa Kamal Dahal "Prachanda," Prime Minister of Nepal; and H.E. Mr. Tshering Tobgay, Prime Minister of Bhutan.

The leaders will attend a banquet at Rashtrapati Bhavan that evening, hosted by President Smt. Droupadi Murmu, in addition to taking part in the swearing-in event. In the general elections of 2024, the BJP won 240 seats, and the NDA alliance won 293 seats, giving them a majority. In contrast, the INDIA alliance secured 234 seats and the Congress gained 99 seats in the general election.