Shortly after the seat-share agreement, Akhilesh Yadav joins Rahul Gandhi's Yatra in Agra

Image taken from Google.com

Shortly after the seat-share agreement, Akhilesh Yadav joins Rahul Gandhi's Yatra in Agra

Yadav stated that preserving democracy and the constitution would be the main task in the upcoming days while speaking to the assembly at the Nyay Yatra.

Day after day, Samajwadi Party (SP) president Akhilesh Yadav accompanied Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on his ongoing Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra in Agra, Uttar Pradesh, ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Speaking to the crowd at the Nyay Yatra, Yadav stated that preserving democracy and the constitution will be the main task in the upcoming days. I want to express my gratitude to the people...The greatest task ahead is to preserve democracy and the Constitution while realizing Dr. B.R. Ambedkar's aspirations, which the BJP has destroyed. As Yadav put it, "BJP haatao, desh bachao."

Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi Vadra joined the yatra in Aligarh earlier today. After traveling through Amroha, Sambhal, Bulandshahr, Aligarh, Hathras, and Aligarh division, the yatra entered the division of Agra, where the chief of the Samajwadi Party joined Rahul Gandhi to deliver a joint public speech.

Vadra questioned the BJP's ten-year rule, raising issues such as inflation, farmer unrest, and young unemployment, while Rahul Gandhi maintained that the Modi government is always causing injustice to the poor in India.

The BJP has ruled for a decade. Many significant events, including the G20 Summit, occurred. Everyone claimed—and we agreed—that these events were contributing to the nation's growing respect, but I would like to know if this regard is unrelated to youth, law enforcement, and students? Vadra stated that the country's citizens are burdened by inflation, there are no employment for the youth, and farmers are still sitting on the side of the road.

Rahul Gandhi and Akhilesh Yadav's meeting will mirror a similar event that occurred in Agra seven years prior, when the two leaders conducted a 12-kilometer road show in the Taj city in advance of the UP 2017 assembly elections.

But in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP won all four of the parliamentary constituencies that the yatra traversed on Sunday: Aligarh, Hathras (reserved), Agra (reserved), and Fatehpur Sikri.

The second iteration of the Bharat Jodo Yatra, known as the Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra and headed by Rahul Gandhi, began on January 14 in Manipur and will conclude in Mumbai on March 20. In 2022–2023 the first 'Bharat Jodo Yatra' took place, stretching from Kanyakumari to Kashmir.

In accordance with the seat-sharing arrangement that the Congress and the SP announced for the next elections, the Congress will run in 17 of Uttar Pradesh's 80 Lok Sabha seats, while the SP will contest 63 of them.

According to SP state unit chief Naresh Uttam Patel, the Congress would run in Rae Bareli, Amethi, Varanasi, Kanpur City, Fatehpur Sikri, Bansgaon, Saharanpur, Prayagraj, Maharajganj, Amroha, Jhansi, Bulandshahr, Ghaziabad, Mathura, Sitapur, Barabanki, and Deoria.

Yadav gave the Congress control over three significant seats: Varanasi, Amethi, and RaeBareli. While Prime Minister Narendra Modi represents Varanasi, Rahul Gandhi lost the 2019 election in Amethi to Smriti Irani of the BJP. Sonia Gandhi held the seat of RaeBareli till she moved to the Rajya Sabha due to health concerns.

The Bahujan Samaj Party and the SP fought the 2019 elections together, and the BJP won 62 seats and the SP won five.